Youtube

Go to The Main Page Add Youtube to favorite!

Wikipedia talk:WikiProject Spam/2008 Archive Mar 1 

Archive This is an archive of past discussions. Please do not edit the contents of this page. If you wish to start a new discussion or revive an old one, please do so on the current talk page.

Contents

whatbird.com again

Some new additions that are being reverted when deleted by bot --Abert's Towhee. Some of the abuse may be traced to this closed/cancelled job with some familiar names: http://www.rentacoder.com/RentACoder/misc/BidRequests/ShowBidRequest.asp?lngBidRequestId=852939 . This article is listed as the "sample" page that bidders should add links to. Flowanda | Talk 18:16, 20 February 2008 (UTC)

In the event this is deleted I'm adding the quote for Add Links to Web Pages Bid Request Id: 852939

Add links to wiki pages
This may sound complicated but it’s actually very simple.
Wiki pages: The pages to add the link to are the wiki pages which cover the birds of North America. A list of the names of all birds is attached to this job description. You can find any bird on the wiki by entering its name into the wiki search box: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Main_Page
Here is an example for one bird page:
Abert’s Towhee
Link From: Find this bird on the USA wiki: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Abert's_Towhee
Link to: Find the page to link to for this this bird using this search engine:
http ://identify.whatbird.com/mwg/_/0/attrs.aspx
The URL for the page is thus
http ://identify.whatbird.com/obj/1011/_/Aberts_Towhee.aspx
This is the link that will go in the Abert’s Towhee wiki page, at the bottom in the area called External links. To access the area for the link you click the Edit link on the right of the External Links box.
Form the proper link for the Wiki as follows (use notepad):

  • + [ + to link + “Whatbird” + bird’s name + “Song and Range Map” + ]
So for the Abert’s Towhee example the link would look like this
  • [http ://identify.whatbird.com/obj/1011/_/Aberts_Towhee.aspx WhatBird Abert's Towhee Song and Range Map]
You do not need to be registered to Edit the Wiki page.
You can show me you understand the job by modifying one wiki page and sending me the link in your reply. That will show me you understand the job. If the page on the wiki has the link already please don’t add a second one, find another bird.
See also - Wikipedia_talk:WikiProject_Spam/2008_Archive_Jan_2#http:.2F.2Fspam.whatbird.com
See also - Wikipedia_talk:WikiProject_Spam/2008_Archive_Feb_1#whatbird.com

whatbird.com: Linksearch en - meta - de - fr - simple - wikt:en - wikt:fr • Reports: Links on en - COIBot - Meta: SRB-XWiki - COIBot-XWiki - Eagle's spam report search • Interwiki link search, big: 20 - 57 • Linkwatcher: search • Wikipedia: en - fr - de • Google: searchVeinor pagesmeta • Yahoo: backlinks • Domain: domaintoolsAboutUs.orgDomainsDB.netAlexaOnSameHost.comWhosOnMyServer.com

Spammers

--Hu12 (talk) 18:45, 20 February 2008 (UTC)

Its now BL'd--Hu12 (talk) 19:15, 20 February 2008 (UTC)
Interesting case.
Goofy166 appears to be the same user as the user on rentacoder (goofy166 on rentacoder); User Veeksha is also active there (Veeksha on rentacoder).
I am providing some extra advertisement for the whatbird.com here and here. --Dirk Beetstra T C 19:29, 20 February 2008 (UTC)
Too bad you're not allowing whatbird links. It's a very informative and organized site for birds. Let me know when you guys change your mind.
Ropm (talk) 14:51, 21 February 2008 (UTC)
Yes, you are completely right, the site is certainly useful and informative. Unfortunately the site owner is not convinced that his site(s) get enough of that credit, and resorted to paying people to spam his site. But here, we are writing an encyclopedia, not a linkfarm. For more information, see WP:COI, WP:SPAM, WP:NPOV, WP:NOT, WP:EL. Hope this explains. If there are any uninvolved wikipedia editors that think the site is of interest, they can request removal from the blacklist(s). --Dirk Beetstra T C 15:04, 21 February 2008 (UTC)

codeuu.com

I started a discussion at Wikipedia talk:WikiProject Computer science#codeuu.com regarding this site, which I consider to be a spammer and a copyright infringer. More contributors to the discussion would be welcome. —David Eppstein (talk) 21:17, 20 February 2008 (UTC)

This sems to be a pretty clear case of heavy spamming with intent to get around our processes:
First spammer (I think) 139.18.25.35 (talkcontribsdeleted contribswhat links to user pageCOIBotcountblock logx-wikisearch an, ani, cn, an3LinkWatcher search || WHOISRDNStracerouteCompleteWhoisippages.comrobtex.comtorGoogleAboutUs). Warned in January by User:Philip Gronowski and User:OhNoitsJamie for spamming this link. Since then has set up lots of throwaway accounts which are used to add just one or two of these links. Partial list: