|
Wikipedia talk:WikiProject Spam
|
|
| General help |
|
|
| Report abuse |
|
|
| Request assistance |
|
|
| Noticeboards |
|
|
 |
When reporting spam, please use the appropriate template(s):
|
As a courtesy, please consider informing other editors if their actions are being discussed.
- {{IPSummary}} - to report anonymous editors suspected of spamming:
-
- {{IPSummary|127.0.0.1}} --- do not use "subst:" with this template
- {{UserSummary}} - to report registered users suspected of spamming:
-
- {{UserSummary|Jimbo Wales}} -- do not use "subst:" with this template
-
- {{LinkSummary|example.com}} -- do not use "subst:" with this template
- Do not include the "http://www." portion of an URL inside this template
Also, please include links ("diffs") to sample spam edits.
|
returnticketmusic.com
User:PZFUN created an article for a music blog Return Ticket Music and the proceeded to add review links to ~50 articles in the span of an hour. --William Graham talk 04:50, 2 July 2008 (UTC)
PZFUN (talk • contribs • deleted contribs • what links to user page • count COIBot • search an, ani, cn, an3 • user page logs • x-wiki • status • LinkWatcher search • Google)
returnticketmusic.com: Linksearch en - meta - de - fr - simple - wikt:en - wikt:fr • Reports: Links on en - COIBot - Meta: SRB-XWiki - COIBot-XWiki - Eagle's spam report search • Interwiki link search, big: 20 - 57 • Linkwatcher: search • Wikipedia: en - fr - de • Google: search • Veinor pages • meta • Yahoo: backlinks • Domain: domaintools • AboutUs.org • DomainsDB.net • Alexa • OnSameHost.com • WhosOnMyServer.com
Looks like that user is Paul Zachary, a contributor to that site.[1]--William Graham talk 04:54, 2 July 2008 (UTC)
- PZFUN is an establisahed user with nearly 8000 edits. Please do not speculate about their RL identity and extend some good faith. Has anyone tried to speak to them about the additions? Spartaz Humbug! 06:58, 2 July 2008 (UTC)
- I left a message on his talk page. --William Graham talk 14:18, 7 July 2008 (UTC)
-
-
- Being an established editor does not buy anyone a free ticket on spam or COI issues, but it does entitle them to a special measure of tact and discretion. After some early incidents, I now avoid templating their talk pages in favor of a more careful message -- that or sometimes, just a private e-mail.
-
-
- I removed the links with the edit summaries such as this one:
- "Remove link added in good faith but possibly with a conflict of interest; other, disinterested editors should feel free to reinsert if they think it's useful and meets WP:EL"
- --A. B. (talk • contribs) 18:05, 11 July 2008 (UTC)
About 400 links to the two sites of one individual
Timestamp. MER-C 03:35, 15 July 2008 (UTC)
The first site is funded by the drinks industry "The Distilled Spirits Council of the United States, Inc. provided an unrestricted grant that was used to fund this web site, for which funding also was received from other sources." (in Disclaimer). Therefore, the owner would appear to have a vested interest in linking to his site.
- Spammers
The owner of these sites David J. Hanson) / Editor David Justin has a history of using sock puppets – see Wikipedia:Suspected sock puppets/David Justin and Wikipedia:Suspected sock puppets/David Justin (2nd), Wikipedia:Suspected sock puppets/David Justin (3rd), and Talk:David J. Hanson. It seems likely that the following are also sock puppets of Hanson used, in this case, mainly to add links to his site:
- Wine3 (talk • contribs • deleted contribs • what links to user page • count COIBot • search an, ani, cn, an3 • user page logs • x-wiki • status • LinkWatcher search • Google)
- Jay Biscardi (talk • contribs • deleted contribs • what links to user page • count COIBot • search an, ani, cn, an3 • user page logs • x-wiki • status • Biscardi LinkWatcher search • Google)
- RWJF (talk • contribs • deleted contribs • what links to user page • count COIBot • search an, ani, cn, an3 • user page logs • x-wiki • status • LinkWatcher search • Google)
- Tom Brighton (talk • contribs • deleted contribs • what links to user page • count COIBot • search an, ani, cn, an3 • user page logs • x-wiki • status • Brighton LinkWatcher search • Google)
- Charlie Damron (talk • contribs • deleted contribs • what links to user page • count COIBot • search an, ani, cn, an3 • user page logs • x-wiki • status • Damron LinkWatcher search • Google)
- Tony Caprio (talk • contribs • deleted contribs • what links to user page • count COIBot • search an, ani, cn, an3 • user page logs • x-wiki • status • Caprio LinkWatcher search • Google)
- Biphasic (talk • contribs • deleted contribs • what links to user page • count COIBot • search an, ani, cn, an3 • user page logs • x-wiki • status • LinkWatcher search • Google)
- Curious Student (talk • contribs • deleted contribs • what links to user page • count COIBot • search an, ani, cn, an3 • user page logs • x-wiki • status • Student LinkWatcher search • Google)
- Malelaku (talk • contribs • deleted contribs • what links to user page • count COIBot • search an, ani, cn, an3 • user page logs • x-wiki • status • LinkWatcher search • Google)
- Helena Albertson (talk • contribs • deleted contribs • what links to user page • count COIBot • search an, ani, cn, an3 • user page logs • x-wiki • status • Albertson LinkWatcher search • Google)
- O. C. Levitt (talk • contribs • deleted contribs • what links to user page • count COIBot • search an, ani, cn, an3 • user page logs • x-wiki • status • C. Levitt LinkWatcher search • Google)
- Jerry Rivers (talk • contribs • deleted contribs • what links to user page • count COIBot • search an, ani, cn, an3 • user page logs • x-wiki • status • Rivers LinkWatcher search • Google)
This list is by no means exhaustive. Nunquam Dormio (talk) 12:04, 17 July 2008 (UTC)
- An interesting statement by the author here. --CliffC (talk) 11:32, 17 July 2008 (UTC)
Another website here:
The websites should be deleted as both references and external links as the funding statements made by and about Hansen do not match the disclaimer, and the .edu is misleading. Flowanda | Talk 04:27, 18 July 2008 (UTC)
- What's to be done with all these links and references? I have removed a few and added disclaimers to others, but was not sure if there's a process/concensus/conclusion yet to be completed. Flowanda | Talk 19:03, 25 July 2008 (UTC)
- I discovered this process only a little while ago so it's all new to me. I was hoping a more experienced anti-spammer would take this forward in some way, but I don't really know what happens next. Thank you for your work so far, Flowanda. Nunquam Dormio (talk) 19:07, 25 July 2008 (UTC)
- I have added them to XLinkBot, though I do not have a lot of info in the linkwatchers database (as expressed in the COIBot reports
(
)
--Dirk Beetstra T C 12:04, 26 July 2008 (UTC)
spam.developersbook.com
developersbook.com: Linksearch en - meta - de - fr - simple - wikt:en - wikt:fr • Reports: Links on en - COIBot - Meta: SRB-XWiki - COIBot-XWiki - Eagle's spam report search • Interwiki link search, big: 20 - 57 • Linkwatcher: search • Wikipedia: en - fr - de • Google: search • Veinor pages • meta • Yahoo: backlinks • Domain: domaintools • AboutUs.org • DomainsDB.net • Alexa • OnSameHost.com • WhosOnMyServer.com
July 1st the following IP went through a variety of pages adding ELs/"references" 98.217.132.149 (talk • contribs • deleted contribs • what links to user page • COIBot • count • block log • x-wiki • search an, ani, cn, an3 • LinkWatcher search || WHOIS • RDNS • traceroute • CompleteWhois • ippages.com • robtex.com • tor • Google • AboutUs)
Worst offences were the replacing of more authoritative pages; i.e [2] and [3] replaced Sun.com on the Sun Certified Training pages with own domain.
Caomhin (talk) 09:58, 3 July 2008 (UTC)
More goodies! In cleaning found the domain spammed in See Also sections of pages, frequently removed then replaced, and multiple links on most articles. Heavy blacklist candidate in my opinion.
66.31.204.47 (talk • contribs • deleted contribs • what links to user page • COIBot • count • block log • x-wiki • search an, ani, cn, an3 • LinkWatcher search || WHOIS • RDNS • traceroute • CompleteWhois • ippages.com • robtex.com • tor • Google • AboutUs)
146.243.4.157 (talk • contribs • deleted contribs • what links to user page • COIBot • count • block log • x-wiki • search an, ani, cn, an3 • LinkWatcher search || WHOIS • RDNS • traceroute • CompleteWhois • ippages.com • robtex.com • tor • Google • AboutUs)
All 3 IPs are registered in the Boston area. Domain registered behind a privacy screen and no contact details on website.
AdSense ID: pub-1170662245723648
Defer to Local blacklist Caomhin (talk) 11:01, 3 July 2008 (UTC)
-
- Note: 146.243.4.157 just tried to delete this section.[4] --A. B. (talk • contribs) 19:33, 10 July 2008 (UTC)
-
-
- Now
|